Help us map the world’s DNA

Living DNA is setting out to build a worldwide genetic family tree as well as producing a fine scale map of the world's ancestry to help explore and understand both recent and ancient migrations.

That’s where you can help, so if you’ve done a DNA test you can upload your existing results for FREE and have access to DNA matches from late 2018, or you can buy a Living DNA test.

What do I get?

You will be helping to create a legacy for future generations to come, as you are part of the last generation who can help us capture a research project with great detail and accuracy.

As a thank-you for taking part in our research project, you will be able to find DNA matches with other people in the project as well as people who have taken a Living DNA test.

This will help those that are interested find new ‘genetic cousins’ and connect with once unknown relatives around the world. The free upload does not provide an ethnic breakdown.

For those that have not yet had a DNA test and choose to buy a Living DNA test you will also benefit from receiving your detailed family ancestry compared to 80 regions (autosomal DNA), your direct motherline ancestry (mtDNA) back to Africa and males will also receive their detailed fatherline ancestry (YDNA).

To purchase a Living DNA test - please click here.

How do I qualify?

We are currently accepting DNA uploads from anyone around the world who wishes to be a part of this project.

The One Family project is open to everyone worldwide and has two main research goals:

  1. To build a genetic family tree of everyone from around the world, regardless of where your family comes from.
  2. To build a regional genetic breakdown of ancestry within countries, similar to 'The Peopling of the British Isles project'. This part of the project is looking for people with all four grandparents born within 80km (50mi) of each other inside our project areas of interest.

Anyone with autosomal DNA data who wishes to upload to us will qualify for the first part of our research project.

If you have all four of your grandparents born within 80km of one another, you will also qualify for the second part of our research project.

How do I take part?

To take part in the project you will need to upload your existing autosomal raw DNA data from your current provider, free of charge.

To upload your DNA data to us, please click on the ‘Take Part’ button below.

To take part you will need:

  • Your DNA raw data file from AncestryDNA, 23andMe, MyHeritage or FTDNA (for help, click here)
  • The name, birthdate, birthplace and sex associated with your DNA upload

Please note: If you have already taken a Living DNA test, you can participate in our research by visiting the 'Research' section of your results.

If you don't have any existing DNA results yet, you can take a Living DNA test by clicking here.

For help or any further enquiries, please visit our help centre.

Our regional research projects

We are actively working on mapping genetic difference throughout the countries listed below. To take part, upload your DNA raw data into the project where you want to take part. Alternatively, take a new Living DNA test to explore your ancestry breakdown.


Includes: Belgium, Luxembourg, Netherlands

Central Asia

Includes: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

China & Mongolia

Includes: China, Mongolia, Taiwan

Eastern Europe, Caucasus & Siberia

Includes: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Russia, Ukraine




Includes: Portugal, Spain



Includes: Ireland, Northern Ireland

Middle East

Includes: Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, United Arab Emirates, Yemen

Nordics and Baltics

Includes: Denmark, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden



South Asia

Includes: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

Southeast Asia

Includes: Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam

Southeast Europe

Includes: Albania, Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, Macedonia, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, Kosovo


West Africa

Includes: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (Brazzaville), Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo